Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
NAACP hosting annual black history program
by Kimberly Shelton
Jan 27, 2017 | 1547 views | 0 0 comments | 40 40 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A leading force for equality, the Alcorn County Branch National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) will reflect on and celebrate the contributions of African Americans during their 5th Annual Black history program.

Organized each year in observance of Black History month, the program will be held at 6 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 18 at Meigg Street Church of Christ, located at 914 Meigg Street in Corinth.

The guest speaker for the occasion will be Bro.Taurean Morton. A 2001 graduate of Corinth High School, Morton currently serves as the Minister of the Lincoln Garden Church of Christ in Cleveland.

In addition to a powerful speaker, the program will also include reflections on Black History from youth in the community as well as selections from the “Terry Street Church of Christ Male Chorus” and a recital of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s famous “I Have A Dream” speech.

“There is no charge to attend the event. However, since it is a fundraiser for our branch, we have chosen three queens to be presented who will be accepting donations,” said Chairperson Pauline Sorrell. “They are Anitha Keith, Mary Wade Cummings and Kolisha Rattliff Strickland.”

As in previous years, the branch will hold a raffle for the opportunity to win two $100 gift certificates from Roger’s/Gardner’s Supermarket.

Tickets on the raffle are $2 each. They can be purchased by seeing any NAACP member.

Highlighting the historical and continued accomplishments of men and women of color, the 2017 event will also be a celebration of their rich heritage.

“All should feel free to wear their African attire,” said Sorrell. “This is an event not just for African Americans and members of the NAACP, but for the entire community as well.”

“The event will afford everyone the chance to learn more about our black culture,” she continued. “We are looking forward to the program and hope to see everyone there.”

Current members of the Black History Committee are:

• Pauline Sorrell, Chairperson

• J.C. Hill, Co-Chairperson

• Bernita Barnett

• Mary Dilworth

• Wanda Patterson

• Billy Patton

• Katherine Pounders

(For questions and more information contact Chairperson Pauline Sorrell at 662-415-3099 or J.C. Hill at 662-293-0290.)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet