Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
Local author Bradley launches new series
by L.A. Story
Feb 09, 2017 | 1461 views | 0 0 comments | 44 44 recommendations | email to a friend | print
What happens when new evidence disappears which would exonerate a death row inmate just four days from execution?

This Saturday fans of Patricia Bradley can find out the answer to that question if they pick up a copy of Justice Delayed, the first novel in her new Memphis Cold Case novel series of crime thrillers.

Bradley will be signing copies of her books from 1 p.m. until 4 p.m. Saturday at the Books-A-Million in Corinth.

Justice Delayed is set in Memphis, Tenn., and opens with a death row inmate who is just four days from execution. The author said the prisoner receives a letter that says he did commit the crime and the letter-writer has proof, but then the letter goes missing and the writer is murdered.

The plot then falls to the hero and heroine to figure out who is the real killer before the clock runs out. The heroine is TV crime reporter Andi Hollister. It was her sister’s murder for which the death row inmate is awaiting execution. The hero is Detective Will Kincaide of the Memphis Cold Case Unit. The man who confessed to the crime is his cousin.

Bradley said she had to seriously research the rare situations for which the death penalty would have been a sentence for the convict. The inmate had confessed to the crime because he was drunk the night of the murder and does not remember the details.

The author has already received strong reviews for Justice Delayed. Lynette Eason, bestselling and award-winning author of the Hidden Identity series, said, “Patricia Bradley weaves together law enforcement and suspense in a beautiful tapestry of words that result in a book the reader won’t want to put down.”

Bradley’s complex plots begin with the simplest of questions. She said her novels often begin with a “what if” question. “In this case, my question was ‘what if someone was on death row and he didn’t do it?’ I know a lot of them say they didn’t do it, but what if this guy was really innocent?” she explained.

The novel is published by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. The second in the series, Justice Buried, is due out in September.

She is the author of the four “Logan Point” series of books (also published by Revell) and she has authored two Harlequin Heartwarming romances, which she described as “sweet romances.”

She said she does not normally write romance books because “they won’t let me kill anyone,” she said with a laugh.

She also authored a novella for “A Heartwarming Christmas,” which is a boxed set of 12 sweet holiday romances. She added this set was a USA bestseller. Her novella was entitled “The Gingerbread Pony.” She is working on a thriller novella for the “Ten Thrillers” anthology, which should be coming out in the fall. The writer said she remains prolific by writing 2500 words a day, five days a week.

When asked how she continues to come up with story ideas, she said, “God is faithful to give them to me.”

(Patricia Bradley is Corinth resident Pat Trainum who writes fiction under her maiden name of Bradley. She is the author of Shadows of the Past, A Promise to Protect, Gone without a Trace, and Silence in the Dark. She has been a finalist for the Genesis Award, winner of a Daphne du Maurier Award, and winner of a Touched by Love Award. She is cofounder of Aiming for Healthy Families, Inc., and a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America. Learn more about the author at
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet