Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
CHS group earn football accolades
by H. Lee Smith II
Feb 08, 2014 | 329 views | 0 0 comments | 30 30 recommendations | email to a friend | print
After compiling the program’s first unbeaten mark in Division 1-4A play and 14th straight playoff berth, three handfuls of Corinth Warriors were honored by division and Class 4A coaches as a whole.

Three were tabbed Class 4A All-State by the Mississippi Association of coaches, highlighted by LB Kyoshi Agknew and P/K John Michael McFall as first-team selections

Center J.R. Burns, the lone non-senior of the trio, was named to the second team.

• Corinth placed nine on the All-Division 1-4A first team and another seven on the second team after winning their first title and earning their third playoff appearance in their fifth year in the league. CHS was in 1-4A for the 1993 and 1994 seasons, before returning in 2011.

Agnew, who starred at both linebacker and in the backfield, was named Most Valuable Player in the six-team conference.

Other first-team selections included Kendrick Williams (RB), Bryce Spence (RB), Burns (C), Brandon Strickland (OL), record-setting sack artist Zantario Jacobs (DL), Jose Contreras (DB), Jay Jones (DB), and McFall, who tied the single-season team record with 12 field goals.

Second-team honors went to first-year QB Antares Gwyn, leading receiver Armad Wicks, offensive linemen Tairek Johnson and Luke Buffington; Bo Howell (DL), Deonte Keith (LB) and DB Quajae Fisher.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet