Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
Town awaits word on election rule
Mar 15, 2017 | 284 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jumpertown’s 2017 municipal election has a twist this year. Only three candidates qualified for the five aldermen posts.

Town officials are contacting the Secretary of State’s office to see how to proceed, said Darlene Duke McMillan, Town Clerk.

The three candidates qualifying for aldermen are: Cindy White, incumbent; Susan Smith Bane, incumbent; and Ashley Hurt, the current Jumpertown mayor.

Present aldermen David English and Frances Yates are not seeking reelection.

Two candidates qualified for Jumpertown mayor: Coy Perrigo, a current alderman; and David Max Yates, a former alderman.

Jumpertown’s candidates run as Independents.

Jumpertown’s general election will be held Tuesday, June 6 at the Jumpertown Park Community Center.

The new term begins July 1.


The town of Marietta won’t have a 2017 election because none of the candidates are opposed, said Town Clerk Cindy Ramey.

Marietta Mayor Judy Ramey is seeking reelection.

Qualifying for aldermen are incumbents Craig Pharr, Ronnie Livingston, Rickey Stanley and Sarah Greene. Also qualifying for alderman was Clint Burns.

Incumbent alderman Beau Burns is not seeking reelection. He is the brother of Clint Burns.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet